THE YARD IN ACTION
The Underfall Yard Trust's monthly Open Days at the Docks Maintenance Workshop, one of the few remaining Victorian dock workshops in the world, return for 2024.
This remarkable facility still houses original belt-driven machinery from the late 19th century, one of the many reasons why Underfall Yard forms the beating heart of the City Docks. Completed in 1884, the workshop provided a central workspace for the maintenance of the harbour. It is still in use by Bristol City Council’s Docks Engineers, making it a unique piece of living history.
This walkthrough is available 1pm-3:30pm on the following Sundays:
- 25th February
- 31st March
- 28th April
Admission is free, with a suggested donation of £3 per person.
The workshop will be signposted on the east side of the yard, close to the Harbour Master’s office.
Booking is not required but entry may be staggered to prevent overcrowding. Please note that dogs are not permitted to enter the workshop, and all visitors under 12 must be supervised by a responsible adult.
The workshop is an active work site, as well as a Grade II* listed historic site. Please respect the safety guidelines provided by volunteers and staff.
Zone South West